MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 11-18-2016, 08:16 AM

Former guitar maker in WV, have a few questions, looking for criticism

Hi my name is Dave, from Pennsboro WV. I have been making knives some time now and decided to look for some experienced criticism, advice, suggestions, etc. I'm a luthier (guitar maker) by trade and also a union operator.

As for tools, I'm a pretty lucky guy. My ancestry is made up of blacksmiths, sheet metal workers, boilermakers and wood workers. So I have an industrial sized wood shop and welding shop under one roof. My belt sander is only 4 x 36" but it seems to do the job. My forge is small and simple with stacked fire brick but soon I plan to build an 6"x18" propane fired glory hole forge.

I'm having troubled getting a a sharp distinct blade angle or I guess plunge is what you call it. It always ends up angling in from the spine to the edge with no precise line. My question is, do you guys make a jig to get such a fine visible line for the start of the angle ? or a guide ? If so, do have any design ideas for the jig or guide ?

Also I am using 1/8" and 3/16" 1080 from Admiral for my knives. Forging at a shade above non magnetic then quenching in motor oil mixed 20% with ATF. I know,I know, I should stop being a tight ass and buy quenching oil. I then temper twice for 2 hours at 435 degrees. The knives seem to get scary sharp ( to me anyway) and hold an edge pretty well.

Also, how would I go about having them tested. I have read where guys send their knives out to go through field testing in return for some sort of rating, and I'm interested in having that done.