MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-17-2012, 11:21 AM

Liner lock bar mated to blade?

Hi!

I'm very new to making knives (just in the planning and material ordering stage). I've done some reading on the making of folding knives. I've purchased and read Bob Terzuola's book on the locking liner, but am still a little confused as to the mating of the locking liner to the blade and how to do it correctly.

In Mr Terzuola'sbook he mentions that he likes a positive lockup, where the angle of the blade tang (between 7 1/2 degrees to 8 1/2 degrees) matches that of the locking liner face, which is at an matching opposite angle, so that they mate.

My question is how do accomplished makers grind the angle of the liner lock face at a matching opposite angle to the tang of the knife blade?

the jig in Mr Terzuola's book shows a screw pushing out the bar of the liner lock so it can be ground. Is the liner pushed out by 7 1/2 to 8 1/2 degrees and then pushed into the grinding surface at exactly 90 degrees? or does it get pushed into the grinding surface at 7 1/2 to 8 1/2 degree angle that would mate it to the blade tang.

If this has already been explained, and I have overlooked it in my searches, I apologize. Any information or links would be much appreciated!

Thanks very much for everyone's time and knowledge in advance!
Old 12-17-2012, 11:55 AM
Founding Member / Moderator