MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Heat Treating and Metallurgy

Heat Treating and Metallurgy Discussion of heat treatment and metallurgy in knife making.

Old 04-03-2008, 09:06 PM
Steel Addict

1095 HT troubles

Hello all,
To start off I'm a newbie who has made around 5-6 knives. I've done all my own heat treating (at work in an oven) and have tried a few different materials. The easiest I've done is 440C. I'm now on my second knife with 1095 and am having trouble. On the first one it took me two attempts but after I realized I didn't get the first quench fast enough, the second one came out fine - I used non-heated olive oil. On this knife, however, I'm not having any luck and would like some advice. I just finished attempt #3 or 4, I've tried searching to see if there is a limit on to how many times you can HT but can't find an answer though it would seem there should be a limit.

So far: 1500-1510, hold for 20-25mins and quench as fast as I can grab it with tongs and dunk it. I started out at 1450-1460 but when it didn't take I had read some have had luck at a higher temp. I know I should probably be heating the oil to around 160 but I'm stubborn - it worked the first time with non-heated and by golly it should again!

I would appreciate any and all comments on a possible solution. Should I anneal and start over? I should probably normalize at the least since it has been through a few cycles.

Thanks,
Alan
Old 04-03-2008, 09:43 PM
Super Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Ed Caffrey Send a message via Yahoo to Ed Caffrey