MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 02-13-2010, 06:03 AM
Skilled

Why use exotic steels?

I still consider myself a newbie here although I have now made probably 50 knives using a propane forge and doing my own heat treating in my trusty toatser oven. Since beginning in this hobby, I have made knives using a couple of old files, some 5160, and mostly 1080 steels. All of these are "simple" steels, are relatively cheap, available, and are easily "doable" for the DIY enthusiasts. I started using the 1080 after reading where Ed uses it for his EBK series, and figured if it was suitable for his knives, then it will certainly work for mine.
After reading extensively, and actually working in my shop, I am confused as to why anyone would want to use the more exotic steels which are harder to find, much more expensive, and frequently require the use of equipment far beyond what most of us have on hand to do the HT. I can see the "benefit" to using a stainless steel since it does not rust as quickly, but beyond that, I can see no benefit, and once the price and difficulty encountered in using the more expensive steel is factored into the equation, I personally do not see any benefit worth the time, trouble, and expense.