MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Folding Knife (& Switchblade) Forum

The Folding Knife (& Switchblade) Forum The materials, techniques and the designing of folding knives.

Old 03-14-2015, 01:19 AM

Backspring actuated hidden release not Hubertus

Want to make friends who are knowledgable in making folding knives in particular . And new friends in general . I am a former truck driver . I have way too much time on my hands . I've always loved folders , and autos , I enjoy finely crafted 'anything' have become quite enthused by the very cool creations I have seen done by others . I think it would be great if some knowledgable guy would read this and help me perhaps 'source' any information pertaining to back spring actuated switchblades ; by this I mean that the backspring is integral to open this knife . I had only five minutes to examine a large equal end jack knife thirty years ago , it was leaf spring operated but switched by pressing down on the single large blade and the kick depressed the back spring in which it held a mechanism that ejected a vertical pin from a rectangular slot which held the blade in the closed position . Though only a presumption on my behalf I believe it must have been made after 1958 as it had a nail notch in the blade but was indeed a click knife the only thing that looked different which I'm sure to the untrained eye was near invisible was a slight oval cut through both the liner and the scale{s}? {not sure if it was visable from both sides} in which a horizontal pin was located through the backspring also {I think}and a seeming break or window as viewed from the back side looking down on the backspring which was metal and almost seamless with the rest of the backspring both of these were located of course towards the pivot location