MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Fine Embellishment

Fine Embellishment Everything from hand engraving and scrimshaw to filework and carving. The fine art end of the knifemaker's craft.

Old 08-15-2002, 06:46 PM
Banned

Question Copper guard and pommels?

I'm a very dumb newbie, with a great deal more enthusiasm than experience. . . . so please try to forgive me!

The third blade I've finished in the last 61 years is about to go out West for treatment, a 15 3/8" California Bowie.

But Judith, "the Lumber Lady", really blessed me with a matched pair of spectacular museum grade Paela handle slabs for this blade, and the copper, red, gold colors are truly cosmic!

And I dabble around with watercolors enough to enthusiastically appreciate that bright copper pommels and guard - with these stunning copper Paela slabs - would go way beyond striking!

But apparently none of you true knife artists use copper, I've never seen it, at least.

Sure you'd have to run a polishing cloth over the pommels and guard once in a while, and you couldn't run over the guard with a truck. But we have two massive copper sheathed columns in the middle of our living room, here on the Suwannee, holding up our cupola. And we only have to touch them up a little every six months or so - no problem at all.

So (a) can I successfully use copper for my pommels and guard, and,

(b) Where would I buy 1/4" copper bar stock, 1 1/2" wide?

Thank you very much indeed!

Gene
Old 08-15-2002, 07:26 PM

Gene,

Ron at LHKnives uses copper quite a bit. If you use the member button at the top of the page go to the L's and click on LHKnives. You can then send an email or PM (some people don't like private messages).