MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Tool Time

Tool Time Let's talk shop. Equipment, Tips & Tricks, Safety issues - Post it here.

Old 09-26-2012, 07:56 PM

Best alternative size to 2x72 grinder

Ok, I understand part of the appeal of the 2x72 grinder has the best selection of belts. I am just starting out, and don't want to spend the money on that large of a grinder yet. What is a good alternative, where I can still get a decent selection of belts on a more affordable unit? I have found several grinders on craigslist for less than $100 and that is kind of the budget I want to keep it on at the moment. I'd rather go used on a decent grinder than go with the $40 grinder from Harbor Freight.
Thanks!
Old 09-26-2012, 09:24 PM

What I am currently looking at is a Delta SA180, which is a 1x42. Will this work as a general use grinder? I have downloaded instructions on how to make it adjustable speed, which makes it look pretty versatile. From what I have read, it gets glowing reviews for knife sharpening, but what about as my primary grinder and then if I move up to a 2x72 then move it to just sharpening duty?
Thanks,
Brandon
Old 09-27-2012, 10:11 AM

A lot of people go with the craftsman 2x42 grinder (including myself as a new maker, also) and I have seen excellent results. I have yet to do my bevel grinding, but it worked great for the few profiles I've done. The belt selection is also not too bad and if there was a way to make that machine variable speed as well, it would probably be far more ideal than a 1x.

I would also be very interested to see the instructions for the adjustable speed...

Justin
Old 09-27-2012, 09:12 PM

Here's the instructions for the variable speed I found.

http://www.knifeforums.com/uploads/1...A180_Final.pdf